Home » Courage/Growth » Goal » New Goals

New Goals

OK, I guess I have procrastinated enough in putting these goals out on the blog so that I am accountable for them.  One thing that is discussed a lot in TKD – not only there but in a lot of places, but they are the ones who are guiding me right now, so I will credit them – is making SMART goals.

SMART stands for

S – Specific

M – Measurable

A – Attainable

R – realistic

T – Timely

 

This time I am going to set 3 goals.

The first will be that in 3 months my HgbA1C is <7.0.  I know that sounds like gibberish, but it really is a very specific goal.   An HgbA1C is a lab test that is done to find out what your average blood sugar has been over the last 30-60 days.  For a diabetic the goal is to have it routinely under 7.0.  I would eventually like to have it much lower than that, but these are the baby steps that I am taking.  It will require me to test my own blood sugar and carefully monitor what I eat and how much I exercise.   But I know I can do it – I just need to have more self control – especially in raiding the kids’ Halloween loot!

The second goal is an endurance goal.  I will be able to walk 5K in <1 hr.  That my not sound like an ambitious goal, but for me it is.  This is a constant gait, not a start and stop type of thing.  The second part of this goal is that I actually participate in a 5K event.  That also may not sound like much, but I don’t like to get involved in big group events, especially ones where I could make a fool of myself.   Remember my lack of grace and coordination?  I am probably the only person who has dislocated her knee in the middle of a nurse’s station.  So, to put on shoes and socks and actually go someplace where there are going to be other walkers is a huge step for me.  My time frame to achieve this goal is by this spring.  Early spring in our area of the country hosts a lot of walks because everyone is ready to get out of the house at the end of the winter.  I will post the actual date of the walk once I find one in which to participate.  I have already figured out a training method to build walking endurance.  I have a walking video that I can use throughout the winter which works up to a 5K.  I will share the name of the video once I dig it out……

The third goal relates to TKD.  By this time in my training my kicks should be above my belt.  My front kick is good to go.  I could always improve it, but it is above my belt.  My side kick and round kick need a lot of work.  There was a time when I could pull my leg all the way up beside my ear.  First – that was many moons ago! I am much older with a whole lot more miles on my body.   Second – that was when I still practicing ballet.   In ballet the legs are always turned out –   knee to the ceiling on side lifts/kicks, or the knee facing outward when lifting/kicking to the front or back.  In TKD the knee faces forward on side kicks.  That requires the use of different lifting muscles and requires a different set of muscles to be stretched.  So my goal – by the time my belt changes color (which will be January at the earliest), my side and round kick will be at least at belt level.  I have already discussed with my TKD instructors and they have shown me exercises to facilitate this advancement.

I think all those goals fit the SMART format.  If you see any that don’t please let me know so that I can adjust them!  Ok, Ya’ll!  I need your rooting and cheering to keep me on track.

 

Leave a Reply

