Home » block » What am I supposed to be doing?

What am I supposed to be doing?

That was my mantra last night during class.  Mr. C was my partner again, though this time he was very nice to me and did not try to work me into the ground.  We were practicing blocks on both the WaveMaster and on hand-held pads.  I think all that lactic acid that was in my legs last week burned up part of my brain because I could not figure out how to do things.  I would listen closely to the instructions, watch the demonstrations and then step up to do it.  I would look at the appropriate pad and not have a clue what it was that I was supposed to do!  I was using fists when I was supposed to use knife-hands.  I was stepping when I should have been stopping.  If anyone would have caught on to what was going on they would have gotten quite a giggle!  I walked out of class knowing that I have really moved all my muscles, but I was not wringing wet as I usually am, so I take that as a big improvement.  Once I got moving, I realized how much my body craved this activity over the weekend.

I hated having to miss class on Friday, but it definitely made an impression on Baby Bear and Little Bear.  We had a very peaceful and loving weekend.  As the cubs are growing up and now have full speaking capacity, we are learning how to discuss things.  This is a change for Bear; he is from a more authoritarian parenting mindset.  Depending on how it is viewed, the cubs are more like me – they need to understand why they are being told to do things.  We are working on a balance between them obeying us without question and still having the freedom to ask questions and understand.  Bear also learned how to ask what happened in a kinder tone of voice – it makes him much more approachable to the cubs and allows them explain things without laying blame on each other.  I learned a lot of things over the weekend – exercise tremendously improves my ability to deal with the cubs and Bear,  that the cubs have outgrown my parenting style and it is time for that style to evolve.

Leave a Reply

