Home » Courage/Growth » Hope

Hope

I have always done crafts.  My Gramma taught me how to crochet a long, long, long, long time ago.  With the advent of arthritis in my left hand making that particular craft very painful I have taught myself how to knit.  Part of crafting for me is collecting patterns.  I collect a lot of patterns.  But looking back at all the ones that I have collected over the last 15 years or so I realized that I have never once collected a pattern that is something I want to make for myself.  I have collected baby afghan patterns, baby sweater patterns, men’s sweater patterns, little girl sweater patterns – but I have never even looked at patterns for me.  As I was looking at some of my favorite pattern sites today I realized why – I had given up hope that I would ever fit in any of them and I did not want to have to redesign the patterns to fit/hide all the bumps and lumps that have been part of my physique for so long.  Today when I put on my favorite pair of black jeans to go to Mass I realized that I am going to have to put them in the dryer to shrink a bit the next time I wash them.  I may even have to take them to the alterations shop and have them hemmed because they are getting too long as my girth shrinks and all that length that was being used outward is now sagging down.

Tonight I downloaded several knitting patterns – and 2/3 of them were for me!

Leave a Reply

